CER News:
Teresa Bartal and Steven Ross named Lawrence Scholars

30 January 2009

Two MAE students (Teresa Bartal and Steven Ross) have been awarded the Lawrence Scholar Program Award this year. Teresa works with Professor Farhat Beg and Steven with Professor George Tynan. Last year, two other MAE students (Tammy Ma and Brad Pollock, advised by Profs. Farhat Beg and George Tynan respectively) won this award. The Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) grants this award to provide Ph.D. students with the opportunity to perform research at LLNL in an effort to recruit young talent to the laboratory. The Lawrence award consists of up to four years of support to conduct research at LLNL. Students must be a full time Ph.D. and have a close working relationship between their academic advisor at their home institution and a technical mentor at LLNL.